Apply to volunteer

lend a hand to those with tails

Thank you for your interest in volunteering!

GHHS relies almost entirely upon volunteers, and we’re always looking for kind-hearted and responsible people to help us in our mission.

Volunteers can fill a variety of roles, such as guest escorts, dog walkers, feline socializers, cleaning, and thrift store sorters and pricers. You can volunteer in as many areas as you’d like, or focus on one particular job.

We appreciate each volunteer’s time!


There is not a minimum amount of hours you are required to meet; however we may ask you to return to general orientation if you have not volunteered within the past six months. This ensures volunteers are kept up to date on GHHS procedures. Only those volunteers with ten or more hours in a six-month timeframe will be kept “active”.

By agreeing to volunteer, you understand that GHHS cannot be held responsible for damages of personal property or injuries. This includes but is not limited to animal bites, wear and tear of clothes, vandalism, and all accidents or injuries.

Step 1 of 3

Volunteer Information



All volunteers under the 19 years of age will be required to provide a parental consent form prior to volunteering.

All volunteers must attend a volunteer orientation prior to being hands-on.

Additional training is required for specific jobs and will be discussed at orientation in detail.

Group volunteering

GHHS is always open to group volunteering, since some jobs are easier with many hands.

The next volunteer orientation dates & times are:

Saturday, 1/4/2020

Thursday, 1/9/2020

Thursday, 1/16/2020

Saturday, 1/18/2020

Thursday, 1/23/2020

Thursday, 1/30/2020

Saturday, 2/1/2020

Thursday, 2/6/2020

Thursday, 2/13/2020

Saturday, 2/15/2020

Thursday, 2/20/2020

Thursday, 2/27/2020

Thursday, 3/5/2020

Saturday, 3/7/2020

Thursday, 3/12/2020

Thursday, 3/19/2020

Saturday, 3/21/2020

Thursday, 3/26/2020

Thursday, 4/2/2020

Saturday, 4/4/2020

Thursday, 4/9/2020

Thursday, 4/16/2020

Saturday, 4/18/2020

Thursday, 4/23/2020

Thursday, 4/30/2020

Saturday, 5/2/2020

Thursday, 5/7/2020

Thursday, 5/14/2020

Saturday, 5/16/2020

Thursday, 5/21/2020

Thursday, 5/28/2020

Thursday, 6/4/2020

Saturday, 6/6/2020

Thursday, 6/11/2020

Thursday, 6/18/2020

Saturday, 6/20/2020

Thursday, 6/25/2020

Please scroll inside this box to view the entire form.

Group Volunteering

Thank you for your interest in group volunteering! GHHS always has a need for volunteers, and we love organized group efforts.

Groups may volunteer Monday – Friday, 10 am – 4 pm (excluding federal holidays). We unfortunately cannot schedule groups for Saturdays. Groups may volunteer for up to 2 hours.

Due to our small building size, we can only accommodate groups of up to 12 people. Volunteers under 19 years old must have a signed Parental Consent Form. Due to insurance restrictions, we cannot accept volunteers under 16 years old and group volunteers are not allowed to handle the large dogs.

Here’s an idea of what your group may be asked to do:

  • General shelter cleaning
  • Socialize kittens & puppies
  • Clean litter boxes
  • Scoop the kennels & puppy patio
  • Pick up trash around facility
  • Seasonal landscaping work

If you or your group is interested in volunteering, please complete the Group Volunteering Form and return it to our Volunteer Coordinator ([email protected]).

Please return the completed form at least 2 weeks prior to your intended volunteer date.

Enjoy news and "tails" of love in your inbox
Subscribe To Our newsletter